Hey family!
So last week for P-Day we just went to a church building and
played
some sports with the zone. We got some basketball,
volleyball, and
soccer in. I was also introduced to a new game called spike
ball! It's
pretty sweet! It's kinda hard to explain but all you people
in the
outside world can look it up on YouTube! :) This week we
finally
taught Javier Orpinela--he's the new referral that we
received that
looked really golden. It turned out to be true! He's working
on
getting married before he gets baptized. We haven't been
able to meet
his girlfriend yet, but hopefully we'll be able to teach her
too. He
already knows the lessons pretty well from when some other
missionaries taught him awhile back, so it's just a matter
of
reviewing with him and helping him get married! He's sweet.
We also
had another first lesson with Carlos Lara, another referral
that we
got. He is also really receptive, but didn't understand why
he needed
to get baptized if he had already been baptized before. So
we
explained more about authority--after a short explanation he
said he
had been confused about that for quite some time (he had
also taken
the lessons before). So that was good to clear up!
Tuesday we ate our "dinner" at 2 with a Puerto
Rican family (aw yeah)
and had a short "lunch" around 5 with the Castro family. They are
always willing to have us over to eat or hang out on p-days.
So nice!
We only had one lesson on Tuesday...it was with the Gonzalez
family.
They're doing well! We watched the restoration video with
them and
talked about how the different principles from that can
apply to them.
Sister Gonzalez and Randy the oldest son came to church for
the first
time in forever!!! They've never come to church since I got
here. That
night we exchanged with Elder Simpson and Vargas out in
Magna!! I went
to Magna again and stayed with Elder Simpson there.
Elder Simpson is like 4 months younger than me, and he's
from Georgia.
We had fun! I got to see Angel Rodriguez the WML again and
the Moreno
family! The Moreno family is pretty much the same, they
haven't
progressed too much. It's always fun to go back to Magna
though! I ran
into Hermana Flores as well! They're our recent converts.
They're
doing super well! But Dayanara and Karla her two girls went
back to
Ecuador! That was a big surprise. We also taught the Andrade
family!
They stopped going to church for a couple weeks :( we taught
them the
gospel of Jesus Christ and got a fire lit under them. I was
really
hoping that they would baptized and sealed before my mission
ended but
unless they get baptized within the next 12 days it's not
gonna happen
haha. But they'll make it sometime. We had a good time
hanging out in
their apartment for a little while after the day was over.
Thursday we were supposed to help someone move in the
morning, but
then they cancelled last minute, so we went home and did our
weekly
planning. The weather has been SUPER nice lately; chilly,
but not
freezing like the last couple months. So we came out of
hibernation
and did planning in the open air. It was nice! And our
planning was
pretty darn good too. Sometimes it's pretty hard to stay
focused for
three hours just planning. Three hours! It's pretty crazy
when you
think about it, but it helps a lot! I feel like it takes a load
off of
my mind to get all the people onto the schedule instead of
just
floating around in my mind. We taught the Gil family on
Thursday as
well! They're so awesome. He helped with the sacrament for
the first
time this week and did great. They're pretty worried about
the
intensifying raids because they're not legal right now. It
was pretty
sad to see first hand, Hermana Gil broke down into tears
just talking
about it.
Friday we went to District meeting out in West Jordan! We
ate some
good lunch afterward and ran some errands for the zone. We
also had a
meeting with the other zone leaders to plan for zone
conference.
Saturday and Sunday...well I don't have time for that right
now but
Sunday we had lots of investigators to church! It was
awesome!!
Love you all!
Elder Baxter
Today after the hike this morning to ensign peak
?? Goofing around like normal
The city lights from ensign peak! We went to see the sunrise without district.
Time lapse on the way home from the hike :)
Quien sabe que



No comments:
Post a Comment